Tuesday, May 11, 2021

31-year-old PDP candidate wins Oyo Assembly by-election


tiamin rice

Adebo Ogundoyin, the candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has won the by-election of Ibarapa East State constituency in the Oyo State House of Assembly.

Mr Ogundoyin, 31, is a graduate of Babcock University.

The by-election was to fill the vacant seat created by the death of Michael Adeyemo who had represented the constituency.

Announcing the result, the returning officer, Ayodeji Omole of the  University of Ibadan, said Mr Ogundoyin polled 6,277 votes to defeat Olukunle Adeyemo of the All Progressives  Party, APC, who came  second with 4,619 votes.

Mr Omole said Adebodun Adepoju of Accord Party scored 2,859 votes while Rasheedat Oyewumi of Fresh Democratic Party garnered 33 votes.

Others were Adekemi Raheem of Hope Democratic Party, 14 votes; Grace Olarinde of Nigerian Peoples Congress, 60 votes and Matins Adeyemo of Mega Party of Nigeria,  9 votes.

He stated that 14,332 voters were accredited and voted out of  the 44,077 registered.

“Total votes cast are 14,179 while valid votes are 13,871 and 308 votes were rejected,” he said.

He declared Ogundoyin as the winner  “ having scored the highest votes as stipulated in the electoral law.”

Adedeji Soyebi, the National Electoral Commissioner for Oyo, Osun and Ekiti, said the election was successful and commended the people of the constituency for conducting themselves peacefully.

“We had little issue with card readers unlike previous elections because we used enhanced smart card readers now,” Mr Soyebi said.

He also commended security personnel deployed to the area for their efforts in ensuring a peaceful and violence-free exercise.

On May 31, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, said seven political parties had been cleared to participate in the Ibarapa State Constituency by- election billed for Saturday.

Mutiu Agboke, the Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC, in Oyo State, disclosed this in Eruwa on Wednesday at a stakeholders meeting on the by-election.

According to Mr Agboke, the parties are Accord Party, Peoples Democratic Party, All Progressives Congress and Fresh Democratic Party.

Others, he said, are Hope Democratic Party, Nigerian Peoples Congress and Mega Party of Nigeria.

He further disclosed that the by-election would be conducted in 140 polling units across the 10 registration areas in the constituency.

The REC stated that the commission had recruited and trained 610 officials for the poll.

The election took place in ten ward with the following results:

Accredited voters 14333

ACCORD – 2,859

APC – 4,619

PDP – 6,277

FDP – 83

HDP – 14

MPN – 09

NPC – 60

Total valid vote – 13,871

Rejected votes – 308

Total votes cast – 14,179

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News