Monday, June 14, 2021

7 ex-governors, 7senators make Buhari’s ministerial list


Rayyan Alhassan
Rayyan Alhassan is a 30-year-old graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
tiamin rice

Seven former governors and seven ex-senators are among the 43 ministerial nominees whose names were sent to the Senate for screening and confirmation on Tuesday.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the seven former governors are Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), Niyi Adebayo (Ekiti), George Akume (Benue), Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers), Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Timipre Sylva (Bayelsa) and Babatunde Fashola (Lagos).

However, the ex-governors are not likely to enjoy same privileges with the former lawmakers during the screening exercise.

READ  APC forum declares Akpabio as 'natural leader' in Akwa Ibom

In the tradition of the Senate, the seven former lawmakers will be asked to take a bow and avoid all the questions and answers that normally characterise the exercise as a mark of respect.

READ  Embrace solar energy, Fashola advises Nigerians

READ ALSO: We deserve ministerial slot, Kannywood tells Buhari

The senators, who will enjoy the privilege and take a bow before members of the 9th Assembly are Sen. Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara) who was in the Senate between 2007 and 2011; while Sen. Olorunnibe Mamora (Lagos) was in the Senate between 2003 and 2011.

Also, Sen. Hadi Sirika (Katsina) was in the Senate at the inception of 2015 before he became Minister of Aviation.

Sen. Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo) was in the Senate between 2015 and 2019, while Sen. Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom) was in the Senate from 2015 to 2019.

READ  Buhari approves $1.2bn for new Kano-Kaduna railway

In the same category are Sen. Chris Ngige (Anambra) who was in the Senate between 2011 and 2015, while Sen. George Akume was a member of the Senate between 2007 and 2015.

Similarly, a current member of the House of Representatives on the platform of Accord Party (AP), Rep. Emeka Nwajiuba (Imo), made the list and he is expected to be treated like the former senators.

READ  Strike: Nigerian govt promises to release N40bn as earned allowance to ASUU

Nwajuiba, who was also in the lower chamber of the National Assembly between 1999 and 2003, represented Ehimembano/Ihitteuboma/Obowo/Okigwe South Federal Constituency of Imo.

READ  Amaechi denies excluding South East from rail projects

NAN also confirms that the screening will commence on Wednesday in alphabetical order starting with Abia and ending with Zamfara.


Related News

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk