Saturday, April 10, 2021

7 withdraw from PDP governorship primary in Osun


Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
tiamin rice

Seven out of eleven governorship aspirants of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, for Sept. 22 election on Saturday announced their withdrawal from the party’s primary.

The primary to be held in Osogbo has more than 3,000 delegates to participate in the exercise.

READ  2019: Atiku to revamp entertainment industry, tackle piracy

Those who announced their withdrawal from the primary are Mr Adejare Bello, former speaker of the State House of Assembly, Adeolu Durotoye, Jide Adeniji, Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, Ayoade Adewopo, Lere Oyewumi and Felix Ogunwale.

The aspirants said that they stepped down from the race due to appeal from the party’s leadership and also to ensure cohesion within the party.

READ  APC denies allegation on governors bankrolling National Convention

Other aspirants still in the race are Sen. Nurudeen Adeleke, representing Osun West at the Senate, Former Secretary to State Government Fatai Akinbade, Akin Ogunbiyi and Nathaniel Oke, a lawyer.

Addressing the delegates, Bayelsa State governor Seriake Dickson, who is the chairman of the primaries, assured them of a free, fair and credible exercise.

Mr Dickson urged all the aspirants to support whosoever emerged as the winner of the primary.

Any aspirant who won the primary in PDP will contend with Isiaka Oyetola, who emerged as the state governorship candidate on the platform of All Progressives Congress, APC.

READ  5 Zamfara Councilors defects to PDP
READ  Dominic emerges new Lagos PDP chairman

Mr Oyetola, who is Gov. Aregbesola’s Chief of Staff, scored 127,017 votes to clinch the party’s ticket.


Related News

Latest News