Wednesday, June 16, 2021

Abuja agog for 2016 CAF Awards


tiamin rice

Awards venue

Abuja, Nigeria’s federal capital territory is already agog with excitement, as the city prepares to host African football community and stakeholders at the Silver Jubilee edition of CAF Awards, which will be held on January 5, 2017, at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced the choice of Abuja as the host city in October this year and sponsor of the event, Globacom, has assured that the company, in conjunction with CAF, will stage a memorable Awards gala in the FCT, which is hosting the Awards for the third time since Glo took over the sponsorship in 2005.

Globacom in a press statement in Lagos yesterday said, “the Glo-CAF Awards 2016 will parade top football celebrities as well as top government officials from Nigeria, the African continent and the rest of the world.”

According to the mobile network provider, the awards gala would also congregate African football legends, including the new African Footballer of the Year and winners in 12 other categories. The categories include African Player of The Year (Based in Africa), National Team of The Year, Club of The Year, and Coach of The Year.

The remaining categories are Women’s National Team of The Year, Women’s Footballer of The Year, Most Promising Talent, Referee of The Year, Legend of The year, Fair Play Award, Platinum Award – Single nominee, and Africa Finest XI.

Borrussia Dortmund FC of Germany’s striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, is the current African champion, while Mbwana Ally Samatta of Tanzania is the African Player of the Year, based in Africa.

The list of top five contenders for the 2016 African Footballer of the Year and five nominees for Africa Footballer of the Year (Africa-based) were recently released by CAF.

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk