Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Again, Nigerians missing as organisers shortlist five for GLO-CAF Awards


tiamin rice

As has been the case in recent years, no Nigerian is among the five players shortlisted for the 2015 Glo-CAF Awards, which list of nominees was released yesterday by the Confederation of Africam Football (CAF).

CAF yesterday in Cairo announced Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez and Islam Slimani, current African Footballer of the Year, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon, Sadio Mane of Senegal and Egypt’s Mohammed Salah as the five candidates for the continent’s highest individual football honour.

Super Eagles’ Kelechi Iheanacho, John Mikel Obi and Ahmed Musa were in the initial 30-man list announced by CAF but they fell out of it when the nominees were narrowed down to the best five.

Nigeria is also missing in the list of nominees for the 2016 African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), with Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa and T.P Mazebe of Congo dominating the list.

The players were shortlisted from a 30-mn list earlier nominated for the African Player of the Year and 25 players who made the list for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category.

In the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, the five shortlisted players include the quartet of Dennis Onyango, Hlompho Kekana, Keegan Dolly and Khama Billiat from the 2016 African Champions League winning side, Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa, while T.P Mazembe player, Rainford Kabala from Zambia completed, the list

Other categories of Awards to be released by CAF in the coming weeks include Most Promising Talent Award, National team of the year, Football Manager of the Year, Africa’s Finest Eleven, Goal of the Year and Save of the Year. The rest are Referee of the Year, CAF fair play Award and African Legend Award.

According to CAF, the winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and technical directors of the national associations affiliated to CAF.

They will be unveiled at the Glo- CAF Awards Gala nite, scheduled for January 5, 2017 at the International Conference Centre, Abuja. Aubameyang was crowned African Player of the Year whilst Mbwana Aly Samatta of Tanzania was named African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) last year.

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News