Sunday, May 9, 2021

Al-Makura inaugurates Transition Committee, says ‘I’m leaving zero debt for my successor’


Rayyan Alhassan
Rayyan Alhassan
Rayyan Alhassan is a 30-year-old graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
tiamin rice

Nasarawa State Governor Tanko Al-Makura has disclosed his administration, which inherited N40billion debts in 2011, will bequeath a zero-debt profile for the incoming administration of Abdullahi Sule.

The governor stated this on Wednesday at the Lafia Government House while inaugurating transition committee members and boards of some government institutions.

READ  Sule trims Nasarawa govt ministries to 13

According to him, leaving behind a crippling debt burden was not only unfair to the incoming government but the people of Nasarawa state.

He explained all the loan facilities procured by his government to execute capital projects have been paid in addition to clearing the N40 billion debts he inherited.

READ  Sule trims Nasarawa govt ministries to 13

READ ALSO: Re-run Elections: Buhari won’t interfere to change election results, Presidency assures

“I approved the composition of a high-powered transition committee to set the stage, guide and chaperon the process towards smooth and seamless transition to sustain the progress and development of our dear state.

“The committee is intended to serve as a vehicle for the holistic evaluation of my stewardship and the performance of this administration during my tenure in office,” he said

The transition committee is headed by the Deputy Governor Silas Agara while the deputy governor-elect, Dr Emmanuel Akabe, will serve as co-chairman.

READ  COVID-19: All Nasarawa cabinet members go into self-isolation

The secretary to the State Government, Mohammed Hassan Abdullahi, is to serve as secretary.

READ  Nasarawa govt spends N29m monthly to feed boarding students – Official

The committee has 31 members.

The governor also inaugurated chairman and members of Teachers Service Commission and Nasarawa Broadcasting Service.

Related News

Latest News