APC nominates Babba-Kaita for Daura zone senatorial by-election

Ahmed Babba Kaita
Ahmed Babba Kaita

The Katsina State chapter of the All Progressive Congress, APC, has declared Ahmed Babba-Kaita as the winner of the primary election for the Katsina North Senatorial District by-election.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, will conduct a by-election to fill the vacancy on August 1, following the death of Sen. Mustafa Bukar who represented the zone.

Mr Babba-Kaita is the House of Representatives Member representing Kankia/Kusada/Ingawa in Katsina State.

Obaha Agbon, the Returning Officer announced, that Mr Babba-Kaita scored 1,723 votes against Nasiru Sani-Zango who polled 1,474 votes.

He said the election was keenly contested in a peaceful atmosphere.

Responding on the outcome, Shitu Masalaha, the state APC chairman, commended the voter turnout.

He said APC would continue to ensure internal democracy in its activities.

“I call on  both the winning and the losing side  to  cooperate towards the success of the party during the bye-election.”

NAN reports that the senatorial district comprise Daura, Maiadua, Sandamu, Zango, Baure, Mashi, Mani, Kusada, Dutsi, Bindawa, Ingawa and Kankiya local government areas.