Tuesday, July 5, 2022

APC’s Oyebanji wins Ekiti governorship election

Must read

- Advertisement -

Biodun Oyebanji, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has been declared the winner of the Saturday’s Ekiti Governorship election.

Declaring the winner, Oyebode Adebowale, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC Returning Officer, said Mr Oyebanji polled a total of 187,057 to win the election.

He said that Mr Oyebanji had certified the law and was, therefore, declared the winner.

“That I, Prof. Oyebode Adebowale, hereby satisfied that I am the Returning Officer of the Ekiti 2022 Governorship Election held on June 18.

“That Biodun Oyebanji, the candidate of APC, having certified the requirements of the law, is hereby declared winner and returned,” Mr Adebowale declared.

READ ALSO:   2023: Buhari optimistic about APC’s victory

The INEC Returning Officer, who is also the vice-chancellor, University of Ibadan, while given the break down of the total votes scored by the participated political parties, said that Segun Oni, the Social Democratic Party, SDP candidate, scored 82, 211, to come second.

According to him, others were the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Chief Bisi Kolawole, who polled 67,457; Accord (A) scored 166; African Action Congress (AAC) 409; All Progressives Grand Alliance,(APGA) 17 while Action Democratic Congress (ADC) polled 141 votes.

Also, the Action Democratic Party (ADP) scored 5,597; Allied Peoples Movement (APM) -290; Labour Party (LP) polled 195 votes; New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) scored 529 and National Rescue Movement (NRM) 347.

READ ALSO:   Buhari vows to probe INEC after elections

The rest were, Young Progressives Party (YPP)-618; All Peoples Party (APP) polled 1,980 and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) polled 282; Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) polled 856.

According to the INEC Returning Officer, the total numbers of registered voters were 989,224, accredited voters, 363,438, valid votes were, 351865 and voided votes were 8888.

However, the Ekiti South West Local Government area Collation Officer, Prof. Gbolagade Jonathan, said there were issues of ballot snatching at Ward 6 , Units 5 and 7.

Jonathan, while given his reports, said they were about sorting the results when gunmen stormed the affected units and started shooting sporadically making the people to run for safety, while they carted away the ballot boxes in the process.

READ ALSO:   Lagos APC chair, Tunde Balogun, breaks silence on Oyegun’s ‘imposition’, directive over Exco

He explained that the two affected units had a total numbers of accredited voters of 266 and 128 respectively.


leadership newspaper

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -