Wednesday, June 23, 2021

BREAKING: INEC officially declares Ganduje winner of Kano guber race


tiamin rice

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has finally declared the incumbent governor of Kano State, Abdullahi Ganduje, winner of the governorship election in the state.

The May 23 re-run election, which was characterised by widespread violence, thuggery and disenfranchisement, saw Mr Ganduje recovering from 26,655 vote deficit to score 45,876 votes, against PDP’s Abba Kabir-Yusuf, who scored 10,239 votes in the re-run election.

Announcing the results of the election on Sunday, the returning officer, Bello Shehu, said the total registered voters in Kano are 5,426,989.

The returning officer added that the total accredited voters for the governorship election are 2,269,305.

He revealed that the total votes cast are 2,242,396, while the total rejected votes are 50,861.

After announcing the scores of all parties that participated in the election, the returning officer said Abdullahi Ganduje of APC won the election, having scored 1,033,695 votes against PDP’s Abba Kabir-Yusuf’s who polled 1,024,713.

The margin between the two leading candidates is 9,210 votes.

On March 11, INEC declared the March 9 governorship election inconclusive, following cancellations that exceeded the margin between the two major contenders.

The canceled votes in the March 9 election were 128,324, a situation INEC said called for supplementary election in 207 polling units spread across 28 local government areas.

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk