Saturday, October 16, 2021

Buhari appoints Ali-Modu Sheriff as leader of 2019 Buhari Support Committee

Must read

Ibrahim Ramalan
Ibrahim Ramalan is a graduate of Mass Communications from the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria. With nearly a decade-long, active journalism practice, Mr Ramalan has been able to rise from a cub reporter to the exalted position of an editor; first as Arts Editor with the Blueprint Newspapers before resigning in 2019; second and presently as an Associate Editor of the Daily Nigerian online newspaper. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @McRamalan on Twitter.
- Advertisement -

The Presidency, through the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, OSGF, has formally appointed a former Chairman of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Ali Modu Sheriff as the Director General of Buhari 2019 Presidential Support Committee.

READ ALSO:   2019: Vote out lawmakers who booed Buhari, group urges Nigerians

PRNigeria gathered that the Committee is different from Buhari Campaign Organisation (BCO) which recently appointed Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister of Transport as the Director General while Human Rights Lawyer Festus Keyamo as the spokesman and Director, Strategic Communications.

The Mr Sheriff-led body has a list of 35 members, 10 members of National Advisory Committee and 5 members of National Patrons with President Muhammadu Buhari as the Grand Patron.

READ ALSO:   Buhari urges ‘disgruntled’ APC aspirants to stay faithful

A popular Kano musician, Dauda Rara is appointed National Director Music, while a Nollywood Actor and Lagos lawmaker Hon Desmond Elliot is the National Publicity Secretary and the Chief of Staff to the Imo State governor and governorship aspirant of APC, Uche Ugwumba Nwosu as the National Secretary.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Political matters, Gideon Sammani, made the disclosure in an official statement.

He said that “prominent individuals were selected after the APC National Convention to build on the momentum of the success to step up preparation within the hierarchy and ranks and file of the party to fully support Mr Buhari to continue with his programmes and policies for the upliftment and advancement of the country with the manifesto of the APC.”

READ ALSO:   Saraki commends Buhari over diplomatic effort at releasing Zainab, Abubakar from Saudi prison
READ ALSO:   Osinbajo, Nigerian governors holding NEC meeting over new Minimum Wage

Mr Sammani who is also Facilitator President Support Committee under the OSGF said: “In preparation for the reelection of President Buhari in 2019, the Presidential Support Committee, Buhari 2019 has appointed eminent Nigerians to the National Working Committee of the organisation.

“The prominent individuals have been selected from Buhari Support Group in their own rights as loyalists.”

The Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Bola Tinubu and Mamman Daura all make up the National Patrons of the Committee.

Members of the National advisory committee are: Senator M.T Mbu, Senator Yerima Bakura, Senator George Akume, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, Senator Ita Giwa, Hon Gudaji Kazaure, Hajiya Ireti, Alhaji Ismaila Isa Funtua and Senator Abu Ibrahim.

READ ALSO:   Akwa Ibom APC ward leaders pass vote of confidence on Buhari, Akpabio 
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ ALSO:   Saraki commends Buhari over diplomatic effort at releasing Zainab, Abubakar from Saudi prison

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -