Thursday, September 23, 2021

JUST IN: Buhari removes NEMA DG, appoints Habib as replacement

Must read

Ibrahim Ramalan
Ibrahim Ramalan is a graduate of Mass Communications from the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria. With nearly a decade-long, active journalism practice, Mr Ramalan has been able to rise from a cub reporter to the exalted position of an editor; first as Arts Editor with the Blueprint Newspapers before resigning in 2019; second and presently as an Associate Editor of the Daily Nigerian online newspaper. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @McRamalan on Twitter.
- Advertisement -

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Ahmed Mustapha Habib as the new Director General of the National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA, to replace AVM Muhammad (rtd).

READ ALSO:   Finance Bill 2020 to check inflation in Nigeria – Minister

Following his removal, Mr Mohammed is now appointed the chairman of the board of National Senior Citizens Centre.

In a statement by presidential spokesman, Garba Shehu, on Monday, Mr Buhari approved the take-off of the National Senior Citizens Centre and constituted a 12-member board with immediate effect.

“This is in line with Section 16 (2) (d) of the Nigerian 1999 Constitution as amended which mandates the State to provide adequate social services and improve the quality of life of the elderly.

READ ALSO:   Okonjo-Iweala to Buhari: Without your personal and direct intervention I wouldn't have been elected WTO DG

“The National Senior Citizens Centre was passed into law as the National Senior Citizens Centre Act, 2017 to cater for the needs of senior citizens (70 and above) in the country.

“To realize this noble objective, and in order to ensure relevance and spread, persons of proven integrity from key ministries and organisations have been appointed into its Governing Board.

“Consequently, President Buhari has appointed AVM. M.A. Muhammad (rtd) as the Chairman of the Board with Mansur Kuliya, representing the Federal Ministry of Humanitarian affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development; Dr Chris Osa Isokpunwu representing the Federal Ministry of Health; Mr Umar Abdullahi Utono representing the Federal Ministry of Works and Housing; and  Dr John Olushola Magbadelo representing Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity as members.

READ ALSO:   Okonjo-Iweala to Buhari: Without your personal and direct intervention I wouldn't have been elected WTO DG
READ ALSO:   Yobe govt paid N7.5bn to 600 Yobe retirees – Commissioner

“Other members include: Mrs Bulus Friya Kimde representing the Federal Ministry of Women Affairs; Mr Sani Ibrahim Mustapha representing the Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD); Professor Usman Ahmed representing the Geriatric Association of Nigeria; Arc. Mrs Victoria Onu representing the Coalition of Societies for the Rights of Older Persons (CORSOPIN) and three other stakeholders namely Dr Dorothy Nwodo, Professor Mohammed Mustapha Namadi and Dr Emem Omokaro who also serves as the Director General,” the statement said.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ ALSO:   Buhari committed to economic diversification –  Lai Mohammed

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -