Tuesday, October 4, 2022

CJN to swear in 85 judges for Ondo, Edo elections, others

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Tanko Muhammad, will on Thursday swear-in 85 judges to serve on the election petition tribunal panels set up for the upcoming governorship elections in Edo and Ondo states.

Recall that the Edo State governorship election was slated to hold on September 19, while that of Ondo State will hold on October 10.

A statement signed by the Court of Appeal Media Officer, Sa’adatu Kachalla, said the inauguration would take place at the ceremonial hall of the Supreme Court in Abuja on Thursday.

According to the statement, the tribunal panel would as well serve for other legislative elections in different parts of the country.

READ ALSO:   Trouble for Dino as INEC gives reasons why recall process must continue

DAILY NIGERIAN reports that the Court of Appeal is the secretariat of election petition affairs in the country.

Its President, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, is statutorily responsible for the selection of judges to serve on the panels of the election tribunals.

Aggrieved candidates in the elections will have 21 days from the day of announcing the results of the elections to file their petitions at the election petition tribunal.

She said: “The CJN will on Thursday, 10th September, 2020 swear in 85 judges to adjudicate on Election Petition Tribunals in the upcoming governorship Elections slated for the September 19 in Edo, October 10, in Ondo states and the by-elections scheduled by the INEC.

READ ALSO:   Supreme Court affirms Victor Oye as APGA chairman

“Time: 2 pm; Venue: main Court Hall Supreme Court; The PCA, hon. Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, will thereafter organise one-day Training on EPT Matters for the 85 judges .”

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -