Monday, June 14, 2021

Court upholds Pretty Okafor’s election


Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
tiamin rice

PMAN members celebrating the victory of Pretty Okafor (arms raised)

The case filed by one Chris Mba on behalf of himself and members of a body called PMAN Caretaker Committee in Suit no. NICN/LA/632/2016 was, on Friday, November 11, 2016, dismissed by Hon. Justice B.B. Kanyip of National Industrial Court Lagos Division.

While hearing the application seeking to set aside the recent election, which produced Mr. Pretty Okafor, as President, Sunny Neji as 1st Vice President, Zakky Azzay as 2nd Vice President and Tolu Obey Fabiyi as National Treasurer respectively among others, the presiding judge, Hon. Justice B.B. Kanyip held that in the absence of any law-empowering the Hon. Minister of Labor and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige and the Registrar of Trade Union, Mrs. Mborgu to appoint a Caretaker Committee to run and manage the affairs of a registered Trade Union like PMAN, that the application lacks merit and was therefore dismissed accordingly.

By this development, the legitimacy, legality and authenticity of the current PMAN executive, led by Mr. Pretty Okafor as president, which was duly elected at the last PMAN biennial National Delegates Conference on October 4, 2016 in Lagos is no longer in dispute.

A statement signed by PMAN Secretary, Kenny A. George, said, “Therefore, all PMAN aggrieved members are hereby enjoined to seize this opportunity to embrace peace by returning back to the union, as the ruling of the court is victory for truth and justice for all, especially now that the new executive is poised to bring about the lost glory of Nigerian musicians and usher in an era of economic prosperity for Nigeria”.

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk