Thursday, August 5, 2021

Delta Assembly screens, confirms 17 commissioners

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Delta House of Assembly on Tuesday, screened and confirmed the appointments of 17 commissioner-nominees forwarded to it by the state governor, Ifeanyi Okowa.

Recall that Mr Okowa, following the dissolution of his cabinet on May 18, had on June 17 forwarded the names of 18 nominees to the State House of Assembly for appointment as commissioners.

One of the nominees and former commissioner for Finance in the state, Fidelis Tilije, was absent during plenary where others were screened and confirmed on Tuesday in Asaba.

READ ALSO:   Buhari salutes sacrifices of 20 frontline doctors who died of COVID-19, mourns Ajakpo, Nkanga

Those screened and confirmed by the assembly, presided over by the Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori, include Mr Charles Aniagwu, immediate past Commissioner for Information; Barry Gbe, former commissioner for Economic Planning and; Julius Egbedi, ex-commissioner for Agriculture.

READ ALSO:   Senate passes Bill for unbundling NIPOST operations

Others are Mr Lawrence Ejiofor, former Commissioner for Culture and Tourism;

Ifeanyi Egwuyenga, former commissioner for Youths Development; Arthur Akpowowo, former commissioner for Urban Renewal and; Festus Ochonogor, former commissioner for Housing.

Flora Alanta, former Commissioner for Women Affairs; Churchill Amagada, former commissioner for Lands and; Chris Onogba, former Commissioner for Environment were also screened and confirmed for appointment as commissioners and members of the State Executive Council.

Similarly, Jonathan Ukodhiko, Evelyn Oboro, Noel Omordon, Rose Esenwu, Shola Ogbemi-Daibo, Kate Oniawan and Johnbull Edema were also screened and confirmed for appointment as commissioners

The motion for the confirmation of the nominees was moved by the deputy majority leader of the House, Oboro Preyor, and seconded by the deputy speaker, Christopher Ochor.

READ ALSO:   COVID-19: Nigeria records 317 new cases – NCDC
READ ALSO:   I met with Ibori to welcome him back to fatherland -- DG SSS

Also at plenary, the Assembly screened and confirmed the appointment of nine secretaries to Local Government Councils in the State.

The motion for the confirmation of the appointees was moved by the deputy majority leader and seconded by the minority leader, Innocent Anidi.


- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ ALSO:   Nigerian govt to distribute 5m cooking gas cylinders in 1 year

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -