Saturday, June 12, 2021

Eletu Odibo, Igboye High schools are champions of Lagos hockey league


tiamin rice


Eletu Odibo High School, Mushin and Igboye High School, Epe have won the maiden Lagos Secondary Schools Hockey League in the boys and girls’ categories respectively.

In the finals played at the Campos Mini Stadium, Onikan, Eletu Odibo humbled Okemagba Community High School, Epe 3-2 on penalties in an evenly contested game, which ended 1-1 in regulation time. Nine schools competed in the boys’ category.

On the other hand, Igboye School defeated Surulere Girls High School 1-0 in the girls’ cadre, to lift the cup in the competition, which featured six schools.

Awards given to outstanding players include Best Behaved Team to Isiu Senior Grammar School, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) went to Bello Quam from Eletu Odibo High School, while highest the goalscorer was won by Precious Nwazuoka of Eric Moore Senior High School, Surulere in the male’s category

The girls’ group produced Surulere Girls Senior Secondary School as the best-behaved team, while Nwabueze Ujunwa carted the MVP award, as Omotayo Mariam won the highest goal scorer award.

Speaking at the occasion, the Director General of Lagos State Sports Commission (LSSC), Mr. Adewunmi Ogunsanya, said staging of the league was in continuation of the Commission’s effort to promote lesser sports in the state.

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk