Saturday, September 18, 2021

FIFA seeks gender parity with new women’s honours at annual awards

Must read

- Advertisement -

There will now be awards for the best women’s goalkeeper and the women’s team of the year during the annual FIFA Best Football Awards, the world football governing body said.

The move ensures both men and women will now claim awards in the same categories, with this year’s winners set to be crowned in the Italian city of Milan on Sept. 23.

“It is yet another step in the right direction to raise the profile of women’s football,” FIFA’s deputy secretary general Zvonimir Boban said in a statement in Zurich on Tuesday.

“FIFA is certain that France will host a groundbreaking edition of the Women’s World Cup this year. So, we cannot think of a better moment to introduce these new awards.”


- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -