Saturday, April 10, 2021

Former EFCC boss, Nuhu Ribadu, bags ‘Anti-Corruption Lifetime Achievement’ award


tiamin rice

Former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Nuhu Ribadu, has received an ‘Anti-Corruption Lifetime Achievement’ award at the 3rd Annual International Anti-Corruption Excellence, ACE, Award 2018, in Malaysia.

A statement on Friday by the organisers said, Mr Ribado, who won the award alongside the World Bank Vice-President Leonard Frank McCarthy, deserved the award for his belief in “actions instead of words as the only way to end corruption.”

“His actions focus on his home country of Nigeria, and the corruption that has robbed the state of huge sums of money while stagnating development.

READ  Why we re-arrested Justice Ajumogobia – EFCC
READ  Man bags 10 Years Jail Term For $179,000 Fraud

Read also: Finally, Nigerian govt freezes bank accounts of suspected looters

“He cites improving the foundations of leadership, institutions and individuals as the key requirements for anti-corruption success in any nation, saying “If things are not done in the right way, cutting corners will always continue.”

“His fearless work has resulted in the prosecution of a number of prominent politicians,” the statement said.

DAILY NIGERIAN reports that the awards in recognition of anti-corruption organizations, individuals and entities from Asia, North America, Africa, Oceania and Europe.

READ  Whistleblower exposes N4bn in GTB accounts

Read also: At UN, Buhari reveals why Boko Haram attacks increase

Held to coincide with International Anti-Corruption Day on the 9th December, the annual award ceremony took place this year at the Putrajaya International Convention Center in Malaysia, and acknowledged the outstanding contributions towards the prevention of and the fight against corruption that are being made around the world.

READ  Court adjourns Edo APC Guber candidate’s N700m corruption case to October 15

The winners from Liberia, Australia, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Papua New Guinea, USA and Mexico were presented their Award in support of The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, UNODC, and its anti-corruption mandates, specifically, the implementation of the United Nations Convention against Corruption, UNCAC.

Related News

Latest News