Friday, September 17, 2021

Gafasa set to emerge Speaker Kano Assembly

Must read

- Advertisement -

Barring last minute change, a member representing Ajingi Constituency, Abdulaziz Gafasa, will emerge as Speaker of the Kano State House of Assembly on Monday.

Mr Gafasa, a veteran legislator, was first elected Speaker of the Assembly from 2007 to 2011 during the second tenure of former Governor Ibrahim Shekarau.

The House is dominated by the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC lawmakers, having 27 members against Peoples Democratic Party, PDP’s 13.

DAILY NIGERIAN reliably gathered that Mr Gafasa was endorsed by the state governor Abdullahi Ganduje at a stakeholders’ meeting held at Kano Government House on Saturday night.

Although the camp of the outgoing Speaker, Alhassan Rurum, had endorsed a member representing Doguwa Constituency, Salisu Doguwa, the governor overruled their decision by opting for Mr Gafasa, an unassuming politician.

The governor also endorsed a member representing Makoda Constituency, Hamisu Chidari as Deputy Speaker, just as Labaran Madari, who represents Warawa Constituency, was anointed to be the Majority Leader.

Others endorsed by Mr Ganduje are a member representing Kiru Constituency, Kabiru Dashi as Chief Whip; a member representing Kura/Garun Mallam, Hayatu Dorawar Sallau as Deputy Majority Leader and; a member representing Kabo Constituency as Deputy Chief Whip.

With the exception of protest by a member representing Kunchi/Tsanyawa Constituency, Garba Gwarmai, the governor’s decision received applause from majority of the stakeholders.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -