Monday, July 4, 2022

Gbajabiamila gets APC Reps ticket unopposed

Must read

- Advertisement -

Femi Gbajabiamila, Speaker, House of Representatives, on Friday won the APC ticket for the sixth term, unopposed, to represent Surulere Constituency I.

The primary election took place on Friday at Akerele Primary Health Centre, Surulere, amid tight security provided by the police, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps and the Department of State Services.

Federal Road Safety Corps personnel were also on ground.

The election began with accreditation of delegates at 3:08.p.m.

The 30 ad-hoc delegates drawn from nine wards in the constituency were accredited, and they voted.

The speaker’s agent, Afeez Odunawo, observed the primary election which ended at 3.13 p.m.

READ ALSO:   Aviation fuel price hike: Ibom Air declines withdrawal of flight services

Counting of votes started immediately after voting.

Ganiyu Adeyinka, representative of the Independent National Electoral Commission, announced the result and declared Mr Gbajabiamila the winner.

Adeyinka said that the speaker polled all the 30 votes as the sole contestant for the ticket.

Mr Gbajabiamila has been in the House of Representatives since 1999.

He was the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives in the seventh National Assembly.

He was elected the Speaker in the ninth National Assembly with 283 of 361 votes.

The ruling party is holding its House of Assembly and House of Representatives primaries across the 40 Lagos State constituencies and 24 federal constituencies in the state.

READ ALSO:   Rice smuggling: Nigerian Customs reopens Kamba border


naija legit

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -