FG splits NNPC into 7 units, appoints heads


The Federal Government has finally made good its promise to unbundle the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), as a step in reforming the Nigeria’s much-criticised oil sector.

The Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Ibe Kachikwu, announced the breaking of the national oil company into seven independent operational units.

President Muhammadu Buhari approved the changes on Tuesday, the minister said.

Kachikwu said five of the seven operational units will be strictly be business-oriented in line with global best practices of national oil companies.

The new units include those for Upstream, Downstream, Gas & Power, Refineries, Ventures, Corporate Planning & Services and Finance and Accounts.

Each of the units would be headed by chief executive officers.

Kachikwu named the chief executives as Bello Rabiu (Upstream); Henry Ikem-Onih (downstream); Anibor Kragha (Refineries); Saudu Mohammed (Gas & Power), while Babatunde Adeniran will head Ventures.

The Group Executive Director in charge of Finance & Services would be Isiaka Abdulrazaq, while the Executive Head, Corporate Services will be Isa Inuwa.

According to the minister, all appointments take immediate effect.

NNN.COM.NG is a portal where you can read latest Nigeria News from all Nigerian Newspapers such as such as Punch, Vangaurd, Daily Times, Thisday, Guardian, Nation, Leadership and more in one place. NNN aggregates Naija News and sort them according to their sources, category and relevance as a way of reducing the effort a news reader needs to put in to reading breaking news in Nigeria and across the world.

Follow us on Twitter @daily_nigerian    Facebook: @dailynigerian

Copyright DailyNigerian.               
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without appropriate credit being given to //dailynigerian.com as the source.