Friday, May 14, 2021

Just IN: Buhari dissolves NABTEB board over N49.7m fraud, others


Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
tiamin rice

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the dissolution of the Governing Board of National Business and Technical Examination Board.

A statement, made available to newsmen in Abuja on Monday by Sonny Echono, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, said the approval was with immediate effect.

Mr Echono said the President had also directed the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu to take immediate measures to reposition and refocus NABTEB for greater efficiency and to render its performance more responsive to the expectations of the present administration.

READ  Buhari condoles with U.S on passing of George Bush
READ  APC conducts peaceful Presidential Primaries in Edo

READ ALSO: Poly rector arrested for allegedly forging PhD certificate

He said the purported suspension of the Registrar, Prof. Ifeoma Abanihe and four other Directors of NABTEB had been nullified as it did not conform to due process, especially in the case of the registrar.

He said the board went beyond its powers and in contravention of Section 5 and Section 6 of NABTEB Act.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that a special investigative panel was constituted to probe activities of the registrar of the National Business and Technical Examinations Board (NABTEB), Prof. Ifeoma Isuigo-Abanihe and four others.

READ  #EndSARS protest: Buhari dispatches Gambari, other govt officials to states

The panel allegedly uncovered irregularities in contract awards and abuse of office by the embattled registrar.

The registrar and four directors were suspended by the 9th Governing Board of NABTEB at its first regular board meeting held on 19th June at NABTEB headquarters, Benin City, Edo State, following allegations of N49.7 million fraud.

READ  71 Reps commence process to revert Nigeria to parliamentary system

The four affected staff members are: Nnasia Ndarake Asanga, Director, Finance & Accounts, Obinna Opara, Director, Examination Administration, Alhaji Jimoh Adewola Kasali, Director, Examinations Development, and the Procurement Officer, Engr. Edwin Osamo.

Related News

Latest News