Saturday, September 18, 2021

JUST IN: Gbajabiamila elected Speaker of House of Reps

Must read

Ibrahim Ramalan
Ibrahim Ramalan is a graduate of Mass Communications from the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria. With nearly a decade-long, active journalism practice, Mr Ramalan has been able to rise from a cub reporter to the exalted position of an editor; first as Arts Editor with the Blueprint Newspapers before resigning in 2019; second and presently as an Associate Editor of the Daily Nigerian online newspaper. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @McRamalan on Twitter.
- Advertisement -

Femi Gbajagbiamila, the Senator representing Surulere I Federal Constituency of Lagos State, has been elected as the Speakership election in the House of Representatives for the 9th National Assembly.

The Returning Officer, who is the Clark of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, declared Mr Gbajabiamila winner after having scored 283 number of votes against Mr Umar Bago who got 76 votes.

At least 358 members-elect of the House of Representatives cast their votes in electing the Speaker of the House for the 9th National Assembly.

The two major contenders are the Majority Leader in the 8th Assembly, Mr Gbajabiamila; and Umar Bago, the lawmaker representing Chanchaga Federal Constituency of Niger State.

Mr Gbajabamila was nominated by Abdulmumin Jibrin while Mr Bago was nominated by Abubakar Mohammed of Yamaltu-Deba federal constituency of Gombe State.

While Mr Gbajabiamila has been endorsed by the All Progressives Congress, Mr Bago is being supported by the opposition Peoples Democratic Party.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -