Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Justice Minister inaugurates new APC National EXCO


Jaafar Jaafarhttps://dailynigerian.com/
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
tiamin rice

The Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Alhaji Abubakar Malami, has inaugurated the Adams Oshiomhole-led newly elected All Progressives Congress, APC, National Working Committee, NWC, members.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Mr Malami first administered the oath of office and allegiance on Mr Oshiomhole and the party’s newly elected National Secretary, Mai Mala Buni, on Sunday in Abuja.

Mr Oshiomhole, who emerged as the unopposed National Chairman of the party through affirmative vote, consequently administered the oath of office and allegiance on other newly elected NWC members.

Emma Ibediro, the candidate sponsored by the governor of Imo State, Rochas Okorocha of Imo for the position of National Organising Secretary, defeated incumbent Osita Izunaso at the convention.

Mr Ibediro got a total vote of 1,770 to defeat Mr Izunaso, who polled 1,459 votes.

NAN recalls that APC South-East stakeholders had earlier endorsed Mr Izunaso and two other national officers of the party for re-election.

The stakeholders had also been in a running battle with Mr Okorocha whom they accused of high handedness and miss management of the state’s resources.

NAN also reports that Bolaji Abdullahi, the current APC National Publicity Secretary scored 2,002 votes at the convention to defeat three other challengers.

John Odigie-Oyegun, the party’s National Chairman did not contest the election.

Other NWC members that lost their seat through election or declined to contest were: the Deputy National Chairman (South), Segun Oni; National Women Leader, Aisha Aliyu Tijjani; National Vice Chairman (South West), Pius Akinyelure; National Youth Leader, Jalo Dasuki; and National Treasurer, Mohammed Gwagwarwa.

The delegates from Imo which produced the National Organising Secretary were barred from participating in the voting process by the chairman of the National Convention Committee because of the parallel executives that followed the state’s recent parallel congresses.

Supporters of Mr Okorocha earlier on Saturday chased away the state executive loyal to Mr Izunaso at the state pavilion, after which the state executive produced by the congress organised by Mr Okorocha’s faction took over the pavilion.

George Moghalu, the party’s current National Auditor netted over 2,000 votes to retain his position along with Emma Enukwu, also from the South-East, got re-elected as National Vice Chairman.


Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News