Thursday, June 17, 2021

Kano Assembly elects new Speaker

Rayyan Alhassan is a graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
tiamin rice

Kano State House of Assembly has elected Hamisu Ibrahim-Chidari, APC-Makoda) as its new Speaker, following the resignation of Abdulazeez Garba-Gafasa.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Mr Garba-Gafasa and two other Principal Officers resigned their positions on Monday.

READ  Bayelsa: Security beefed up at Supreme Court premises as APC’s motion to review judgment begins

The two Principal Officers are Kabiru Hassan-Dashi (APC- Kiru) Majority Leader and his deputy, Tasi’u Zabainawa (APC -Minjibir).

Nuhu Abdullahi (APC -Wudil) nominated Mr Ibrahim-Chidari as new Speaker and was seconded by Sunusi Usman-Batayya (APC -Albasu) during Tuesday’s plenary.

READ  ‘APC governors endorse ex-governor M.A Abubakar for ministerial appointment’

Mr Ibrahim-Chidari, who until his election was deputy speaker was elected by a majority of the lawmakers through voice votes.

The lawmakers also elected Mr Hamza Massu (APC-Sumaila) as the deputy speaker.

Labaran Abdul-Madari (APC Warawa), was also elected as the new Majority Leader, while Mr Abdullahi Yaryasa (APC -Tudun Wada) emerged as the Deputy Majority Leader.


Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ  Despite exodus, APC insists it has in majority in National Assembly, lists members

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk