Sunday, September 26, 2021

Kwankwaso, Melaye, Hunkuyi, 12 other senators dump APC for PDP [See Names]

Must read

Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
- Advertisement -

A total of fifteen senators of the All Progressives Congress, APC, have dumped the party and defected to the opposition Peoples’ Democratic Party, PDP.

In a letter to the President of the Senate, signed by 14 senators, they indicated their intention to leave the ruling APC for the opposition PDP.

The senators who have so far defected are: Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, Barnabas Gemade, Dino Melaye, Isa Hamma Misau, Lanre Tajouso, Shaaba Lafiagi, Mohammed Shittu and Ubali Shittu.

Others senators are: Rafiu Ibrahim, Suleiman Hunkuyi, Monsurat Sunmonu, Ibrahim Danbaba, Usman Nafada and Suleiman Nazif.

READ ALSO:   Senate says Dino Melaye’s life in danger, orders Police, NSCDC to reinstate Senator’s security details

Shortly after reading the letter, Mr Saraki also announced that Sen. Murtala Nyako has also indicated his intention to leave the APC, bringing the total number of defectors to 15.

READ ALSO:   My sacking, miscarriage of justice —Melaye

With this number of new senators in the PDP, the party now holds the majority seats in the upper legislative chamber.

Speaking after the defection, Mr Saraki who expressed displeasure at the siege on his residence and those of other lawmakers, said that it was uncalled for.

“People have the freedom of association. I have been sitting down here and more than 15 senators have decamped or defected to one party or the other. There was no siege on their residence,” he said.

The full list

READ ALSO:   Senate summons IG of Police, suspends plenary to see Melaye in hospital

Sen. Lanre Tejouso
Sen. Shaaba Lafiagi
Sen. Barnabas Gemade
Sen. Dino Melaye
Sen. Ubale Shittu
Sen. Rafiu Ibrahim
Sen. Isa Misau
Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi
Sen. Monsurat Sunmonu
Sen. Ibrahim Danbaba
Sen. Bayero Nafada
Sen. Sulaiman Nazif
Sen. Rabiu Kwankwaso
Sen. Murtala Nyako

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ ALSO:   BREAKING: Dino Melaye dumps APC for PDP

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -