Monday, August 15, 2022

Lewandowski, Messi, Salah contest FIFA Best award

Must read

- Advertisement -

Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski has been named on the final three-man shortlist for the FIFA Best men’s player of the year award for 2021.

But the Pole faces competition from Egyptian star Mohamed Salah and Argentine great Lionel Messi.

The trio were named by the world football governing body on Friday in a presentation ahead of the award being handed out on Jan. 17 as part of a TV show in Zurich.

Lewandowski won the title in 2020 and former Germany international Sami Khedira said there was a “great chance” he would retain the honour.

“I would bet on him because he’s such an amazing player,” Khedira said as the shortlist was announced.

READ ALSO:   Osinbajo heads to Berlin, to address German business community on Monday

Poland’s Lewandowski has set numerous scoring records recently but Liverpool’s Salah is also in superb form even if Messi, with Paris Saint-Germain, PSG, is perhaps no longer at his best.

FC Barcelona’s duo of Jennifer Hermoso and Alexia Putellas, along with Sam Kerr of Chelsea, make up the women’s shortlist.


daily post nigeria

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -