Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Mahrez, Mane, Aubameyang are finalists for Glo-CAF Awards

Must read

- Advertisement -

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang. PHOTO:AFP

Leicester City star, Riyad Mahrez, Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Sadio Mane of Liverpool were on Wednesday unveiled by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) as the top three nominees for the 2016 Glo-CAF African Footballer of the year Awards.

The players were shortlisted from a five-man list earlier nominated for the African Player of the Year and five players who made the list for the Player of the Year (based in Africa) category.

In the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, the three finalists include Rainford Kabala of Zambia and T.P Mazembe F.C and Mamelodi Sundowns F.C of South Africa duo of Dennis Onyango from Uganda and Zimbabwean, Khama Billiat.

The list is prepared through a vigorous selection process by the Technical, Football and Media Committees of CAF, taking into account the performance of the players for their national teams and clubs from January to November of each year.

The ultimate winner of the award will be decided by votes from the Head Coaches or the Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

The African football king will be crowned at the Awards Night holding at the International Convention Centre, Abuja on January 5, 2017. Winners in other categories will also be announced at the event, which Globacom has been the title sponsor since 2005.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -