Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Matawalle bags Man-of-the-Year award


Rayyan Alhassan is a graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or www.facebook.com/RayyanAlhassan, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
tiamin rice

The Zamfara State governor, Bello Matawalle, has bagged the ‘2020 Man of the Year’ award from the Sun Newspapers Limited.

A statement by the governor’s Special Adviser on Media and Communications, Zailani Bappa, said the award was presented to the governor by a team of the newspaper’s management in Gusau, the state capital.

Led by its Managing-Director, Onuoha Okeh, the newspaper management said Mr Matawalle’s nomination was arrived at after considering a myriad of nominees.

See also  Tambuwal appoints Abdulrazak Shehu as Sokoto Assembly Clerk

According to Mr Okeh, the governor’s excellent achievements in 2019 in the area of security, human empowerment and agriculture were superlative, hence the recognition.

See also  There’re over 10,000 armed bandits in Zamfara – Yari

Mr Okeh mentioned Rotimi Amechi, Aliko Dangote, Mike Adenuga and Nuhu Ribadu as some of the past winners of the award.

Mr Okeh added that the governor “significantly reversed the name of Zamfara State” from a banditry-ravaged to a peaceful state where most people now go about their normal lives.

Receiving the award, Mr Matawalle expressed his delight, dedicating the award to the victims of banditry in the state.

He said the award was a generous energiser to his administration to do more for the benefit of mankind in the state.

See also  UPDATED: Gusau-Zaria road blocked as thousands protest killings in Zamfara, destroy Buhari, Yari billboards

Mr Matawalle, therefore, advised the media in the country to be more committed to peace, nation-building and development.

See also  Matawalle condoles families of 17 deceased accident victims, declares 3-day mourning in Zamfara

According to him, lavish reports of exploits energise criminals to do more, stressing that black-out on them would go a long way in dampening their morale.

The brief award ceremony was attended by former Minister of Finance, Amb. Bashir Yuguda, the Secretary to the State Government, Bala Bello-Maru, the Head of Service, KabIru Balarabe, as well as a number of commissioners and special advisers.

Related News

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk