Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Ministerial Nominees: Aduda petitions Senate over non-inclusion of FCT indigenes


tiamin rice

Philip Aduda, the Senator representing the Federal Capital Territory, FCT,  has presented a petition to the Senate on behalf his constituents in the FCT over non-inclusion of a ministerial nominee from the territory.

Mr Aduda said that he had on July 24 drawn the attention of the Senate to the development by raising the issue in Order 43 of the Senate Rule.

He noted that his constituents were surprised that no nominee representing FCT was on the list presented to the Senate for screening and confirmation by President Muhammadu Buhari.

READ  Atiku says Maina’s reinstatement, Adeosun’s forgery case, others show Buhari not uncompromising on corruption
READ  Next Level: put extra efforts in tackling insecurity, APC chieftain urges Buhari

He observed that it was surprising to his constituents that even as the Senate prepared to end the screening, no nominee from FCT had been announced.

READ ALSO: Buhari describes Abuja residents as ‘necessary evil’, says “I know you didn’t vote for me”

He drew the attention of the Senate to a judgment of the Court of Appeal on January 16, 2018, affirming that somebody from FCT should be appointed a minister from the territory.

He said that the Federal Government, the respondent in the matter, had not contested the judgment.

READ  EXCLUSIVE: Buhari summons IG as police boss faces sack

He noted that by not contesting the judgment, it implied that the government had complied with the order of the court.

President of the Senate Ahmad Lawan, therefore, requested that the petition be submitted, promising that the petition would be referred to the Senate Committee on Public Petitions.

News Agency of Nigeria reports that Buhari released 43 ministerial nominees to the Senate for screening and confirmation on July 23.

READ  NITDA partners Arewa Tech Society for sustainable dev't through IT

In the list, there are nine nominees from the North-West Zone, seven each from the North-Central, North-East, South-West and South-South zones while the South-East zone has six nominees.

READ  Pro-Buhari group to Atiku: Come to terms with your loss


Related News

Latest News