Saturday, December 3, 2022

NBC revokes licences of AIT/Ray Power FM, Silverbird TV, 50 others

Must read

Ibrahim Ramalan
Ibrahim Ramalan
Ibrahim Ramalan is a graduate of Mass Communications from the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria. With nearly a decade-long, active journalism practice, Mr Ramalan has been able to rise from a cub reporter to the exalted position of an editor; first as Arts Editor with the Blueprint Newspapers before resigning in 2019; second and presently as an Associate Editor of the Daily Nigerian online newspaper. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @McRamalan on Twitter.
- Advertisement -

The National Broadcasting Commission, NBC, has revoked the licenses of the AIT/Ray Power FM (DAAR Communication, Silverbird TV Network and 50 other stations over N2.6 billion debt.

The Director-General of NBC, Balarabe Ilelah, who made the disclosure at a news conference on Friday in Abuja, ordered the affected stations to shut down in the next 24 hours.

Mr Ilelah directed NBC offices nationwide to collaborate with the security agencies to ensure immediate compliance.

He explained that in May 2022, the commission published in the national dailies, the list of licensees that that are indebted to NBC, granted them two weeks to renew their licenses and pay their debts or consider their licenses revoked, frequencies withdrawn.

”Three months after the publication, some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the NBC Act CAP N11, laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10 (a) of the third schedule of the Act.

”In view of this development, the continued operation of the debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security.

” Therefore, after due consideration, the NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the under-listed stations and give them 24 hours to shutdown their operations,” he said.

He also called on all Internet Protocol Television and all other broadcast stations that are streaming online to register with the commission to avoid disconnection

”Broadcasters should note that, having a DTT or FM license doesn’t warrant a broadcaster to stream online; they are two different licenses.’

Below is the list of affected stations:

  1. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
    2. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Lagos
    3. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Yenagoa
    4. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Port Harcourt
    5. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Jos
    6. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd) Benin
    7. AIT/Ray Power FM (DAAR Communication ltd) Network
    8. Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd)
    9. FM Network Tao FM (Ovidi Communications Ltd)
    10. FM Okene, Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd)
    11. FM Suleja Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
    12. We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd)
    13. FM Benin Linksman International Itd
    14. Keffi Bomay Broadcasting Services Ltd Abuja
    15. MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd) Ibadan
    16. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Port-Harcourt
    17. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
    18. Classic TV (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
    19. Beat FM (Megalectrics LTD) Lagos
    20. Cooper Communications Ltd Lagos
    21. Splash FM (West Midlands Ltd) Ibadan
    22. Osun State Broadcasting Corporation
    23. Rock City FM (Boot Communications Ltd) Abeokuta
    24. Family FM (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd) Ilugun
    25. Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd) Ibadan
    26. Radio Jeremi (Radio Jeremi Itd) Effurun
    27. Breeze FM (Bays Water Ltd) Akure
    28. Vibes FM (Vibes Communication Ltd) Benin
    29. Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd) Port-Harcourt
    30. Wave FM (South Atlantic Media Ltd)
    31. Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation
    32. Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation
    33. Niger State Broadcasting Corporation
    34. Gombe State Broadcasting Corporation
    35. Lagos State Broadcasting Corporation
    36. Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation
    37. Ondo State Broadcasting Corporation
    38: Rivers State Broadcasting Corporation
    39. Bayelsa State Broadcasting Corporation
    40. Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation
    41. Imo State Broadcasting Corporation
    42. Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation
    43. Borno State Broadcasting Corporation
    44. Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation
    45. Sokoto State Broadcasting Corporation
    46. Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation
    47. Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation
    48. Jigawa State Broadcasting Corporation
    49. Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation
    50. Katsina State Broadcasting Corporation
    51. Lagos DSB
    52. Silverbird TV (Silverbird Communications Co. Ltd)
- Advertisement -

More articles



    Thay are the loudest in criticism against the government, yet the most lawbreaker who would not pay their dues.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -