Saturday, June 25, 2022

Nigerian govt moves to resolve NSITF over intra-union dispute

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Federal Government has inaugurated a committee to resolve the intra-union trade dispute in the Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund’s, NSITF, Association of Senior Staff of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions, ASSBIFI, branch.

Yerima-Peter Tarfa, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Labour and Employment, said this in a statement by Charles Akpan, Deputy Director, Press and Public Relations in the ministry, on Friday in Abuja.

Mr Tarfa said that the ministry had conducted an investigation into the matter when it received a petition from a faction of the NSITF unit of ASSBIFI – “Integrity and Transparency Group’’.

According to him, the investigation revealed that an intra-union dispute was going on in ASSBIFI.

READ ALSO:   Hijab saga: MSSN advises Kwara govt to retain, rename missionary schools

“It was in this regard that a five-member Caretaker Committee was set up during conciliation to help resolve the issue,’’ Mr Tarfa.

He charged the committee to iron out the grey areas between the warring parties in the interest of peace and harmony in the workplace.

“The committee is to review the local bye-laws of NSITF, ASSBIFI unit, and to conduct election of the local branch of the ASSBIFI, NSITF unit, as soon as possible, as directed by the Minister for Labour and Employment,’’ he said.

The permanent secretary urged the committee to work assiduously, objectively and transparently to achieve its overall objective, which is to critically review the issues in dispute and proffer implementable solutions.

READ ALSO:   Insecurity: Niger govt spends over N5bn on running IDP camps

Mr Tarfa also appealed to the disputing parties to embrace dialogue and peace, for increased personal and organisational productivity.

He said the committee had two weeks to conclude its task.

The committee is chaired by Olebe Alex, Ministry of Labour and Employment with Modupe Adebayo, a non-member, as Secretary.

Other members are Asiomanokal George Akokotu, NSITF, Aderemi Alabi, NSITF/ASSBIFI, Joseph Agoha, NSITF/ASSBIFI, and Beieble Zifa, NSITF.

The committee of the chairman pledged commitment of members to achieving the mandate given it.


latest news in nigeria today 2022

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -