Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Ortom swears in 15 commissioners in Benue

Must read

Rayyan Alhassanhttps://dailynigerian.com/author/rayyan/
Rayyan Alhassan is a graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or www.facebook.com/RayyanAlhassan, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
- Advertisement -

Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State on Tuesday swore in 15 Commissioners into the state’s Executive Council.

While swearing-in the commissioners, Mr Ortom disclosed that the appointments were made without interference from any quarters.

According to him, those appointed should know that their godfather is God and then the Benue people.

The governor, therefore, tasked the new commissioners to be up and doing, especially as governance challenges were enormous.

READ ALSO:   APC Benue chapter denies giving Ortom ‘red card’

 “You should deploy your experiences to bear on the collective determination of this administration to respond to the challenges confronting us in “Our Collective Vision for a New Benue,” Mr Ortom stated.

READ ALSO:   Scandal: Save the church from ridicule, refund Buhari’s N25m, Otubu challenges CAN President

He urged the newly sworn in Commissioners to quickly settle down and acquaint themselves with the policy document of his administration, “Our Collective Vision for a New Benue,” which birthed.

READ ALSO: 2019: Benue people will resist election rigging, says Ortom

DAILY NIGERIAN reports that the new vision has five main pillars as good governance and revenue security; agriculture-driven industrialization; STEAM-based education and health services; as well as investment in critical infrastructure and promotion of gender, empowerment of women, youth, sports and persons with disability.

The newly sworn-in commissioners include: Professor Dennis Ityavyar, Messrs Bernard Unenge, David Olofu and M-Erga Kachina retained their portfolios of Education, Lands, Survey and Solid Minerals as well as Finance and Industry, Trade and Investment respectively.

READ ALSO:   Buhari arrives Yokohama, Japan
READ ALSO:   2019: Benue people will resist election rigging, says Ortom

Mrs. Ngunan Adingi is to oversee Information, Culture and Tourism, Mrs. Ladi Ajene Isegbe was assigned to Youths and Sports with Engineer Alexander Shaapera taking charge of Works while Engineer Dondo Ahire was assigned to Water Resources and Environment with Dr. Timothy Ijir, Victor Dzungwe Ukaha and Igirgi Nyiazungwe taking charge of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Rural Development and Cooperatives as well as Women Affairs respectively.

Dr. Oyiwona Godwin is to oversee Energy, Science and Technology; Chief Ekpe Ogbu is to take charge of Housing and Urban Development while Dr. Ongbabo Sunday was assigned to Health and Human Services.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ ALSO:   Insecurity: Abacha regime better than Buhari administration – Mailafia

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -