Saturday, October 16, 2021

Osinbajo appoints ex-Speaker Salisu Buhari, others into Advisory Council [Full list]

Must read

Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
- Advertisement -

By Ibrahim Sulaiman

The acting president, Yemi Osinbajo, has inaugurated the board of the Nigerian Industrial Policy and Competitiveness Advisory Council on Tuesday, with a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Salisu Buhari, as member.

Mr Buhari was forced to resign as speaker in July 1999, following age falsification and certificate forgery.

In his final speech before the House, Mr Buhari had tearfully apologized to his colleagues, nation, friends and family.

“I apologise to you. I apologise to the nation. I apologise to my family and friends for all the distress I have caused them.

“I was misled in error by zeal to serve the nation.

“I hope the nation will forgive me and give me the opportunity to serve again,” Mr Buhari, then 29, added.

In 2013, his appointment by the former President Goodluck Jonathan to serve as a member of the Governing Council of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, had generated controversy.

READ ALSO:   Lagos to use tourism, festivals, carnivals to boost revenue
READ ALSO:   Nigerian govt grants tax reliefs to TStv, Minister says

As a manufacturer and chairman of Rumbu Sacks, Mr Buhari was picked by Mr Osinbajo to serve as a member of the key advisory council, which the acting president himself chairs.

The council, which comprises representatives of the public and private sectors as well as a seven-member Technical Committee, will supervise policies that will speed up Nigeria’s industrialisation bid.

Read the full list below:


  1. His Excellency, the Acting President and Chairman of the EMT, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Chairman)
  2. Hon. Minister, Industry Trade and Investment, Dr. Okechukwu Enelamah (Vice-Chairman, Public Sector)
  3. Hon. Minister of State, Industry, Trade and Investment, Mrs. Aisha Abubakar (Alternate Vice-Chairman, Public Sector)
  4. President, Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote (Vice-Chairman, Private Sector)
  5. Chairman, ANAP Business Jets Ltd, Mr. Atedo Peterside (Alternate Vice-
    Chairman, Private Sector)


  1. Chairman, Nigerian Breweries and PZ Cussons Chief Kola Jamodu
  2. Chairman, BUA Group Alhaji Abdulsamad Rabiu
  3. Chairman, IVM Innoson Group of Companies Limited Dr. Innocent Ifediaso Chukwuma
  4. GMD, Chi Foods Nigeria Mr. Rahul Savara
  5. Chairman, Flour Mills of Nigeria Plc Mr. John Coumantarous
  6. CEO, Emzor Pharmaceuticals Mrs. Stella Okoli
  7. Country Head, Olam Mr. Mukul Mathur
  8. President/CEO Beloxxi Industries Limited Mr. Obi Ezeude
  9. MD/CEO Fidson Healthcare Plc Dr. Fidelis Ayebea
  10. Founder, Flutterwave Mr. Iyinoluwa Aboyeji
  11. President & CEO, GE Business Operations Nigeria Mr. Lazarus Angbazo
  12. CEO, Jumia Mrs. Juliet Anamah
  13. CEO, SecureID Nigeria Ltd Mrs. Kofo Akinkugbe
  14. Chairman/C.E.O, AMMASCO International Limited Alhaji Ado Mustapha
  15. Chairman, KAM Industries Alhaji Kamaldeen Yusuf
  16. Chairman, United Textiles Plc Alhaji Adamu Atta
  17. Chairman Candel Corporation; CEO Swift Networks Mr. Charles Anudu
  18. Chairman, Rumbu Sacks Nigeria Limited Alhaji Ibrahim Salisu Buhari
  19. Chairman, Tofa Group Mr. Isiaku Tofa
  20. MD/CEO Proforce Limited Mr. Ade Ogundeyin
  21. President, Manufacturers Association of Nigeria Dr. Frank Udemba JacobsOTHER PUBLIC SECTOR MEMBERS
  22. Hon. Minister for Budget & National Planning, Senator Udoma Udo Udoma
  23. Hon. Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun
  24. Hon. Minister for Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh
  25. Hon. Minister for Power, Works & Housing, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola
  26. Hon. Minister for Transportation, Chief Rotimi Amaechi
  27. Hon. Minister of State, Petroleum Resources Dr. Ibe Kachikwu
  28. Hon. Minister for Mines and Steel Development, Dr. Kayode Fayemi
  29. Hon. Minister for Science & Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu
  30. Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, Mr. Godwin Emefiele
READ ALSO:   Pregnant women in Northeast at risk of cholera, UN agency says
READ ALSO:   NPA: 24 ships with fertiliser, food items to arrive Nigerian ports


  1. Economic Adviser to the President Dr. Yemi Dipeolu
  2. Trade Adviser/Chief Negotiator Amb. Chiedu Osakwe
  3. MD, Bank of Industry Mr. Waheed Olagunju
  4. Exec. Director/CEO, Nigerian Export Promotion Council, Mr. Olusegun
  5. Executive Secretary, Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission Ms. Yewande
  6. Statistician-General, National Bureau of Statistics Dr. Yemi Kale
  7. CEO, Economic Associates Dr. Ayo Teriba
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ ALSO:   I rear goats, snails, not snakes, Gov Ortom replies critics

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -