Monday, May 17, 2021

Osinbajo releases N1.6billion for victims of flood


Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
tiamin rice

 The acting president, Yemi Osinbajo, on Wednesday directed the Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun, to immediately release N1.6 billion for 16 states affected by floods across the country.

Briefing reporters at the end of the Federal Executive Council Meeting, spokesman to the president, Femi Adesina, said the money was meant to cushion the effects of the disaster on people.

READ  FG finally reopens Third Mainland Bridge to regular traffic

Mr Adesina said said the funds would be sourced from the Federal Government’s Ecological Account at the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN.

He said the Minister of Finance has been directed to release the money directly to the National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA, for onward distribution to the affected states.

The benefitting states are Ekiti, Osun, Akwa Ibom, Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia, Oyo, Lagos, Plateau, Sokoto, Edo and Bayelsa.

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ  COVID-19 palliatives: Nigerian govt delivers 110 truck-loads of rice, grains to Kano

Latest News