Thursday, September 16, 2021

Osinbajo signs seven bills into laws

Must read

Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
- Advertisement -

The acting president, Yemi Osinbajo,  has assented to seven bills passed by the National Assembly.

The bills which include Oath (Amendment) Act 2017, Defence Space Administration Act, Veterinary Surgeons (Amendment) Act have now become Nigerian laws.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters, Ita Enang, confirmed Mr Osinbajo’s assent of the bills.

Other bills signed by Mr Osinbajo are National Film and Video Censors Board, Pension Rights of Judges, Nigerian Institute of Social Science (Establishment ACT and Mortgage Institutions Amendment Act.

READ ALSO:   NASS siege: PDP lawmakers urged to sanction Buhari

Mr Enang said the Acts, other than the Defence Space Administration Act and Institute of Soil science are mainly Amendments to the Principal Act  and they are intended to bring the Acts in conformity with current realities.

READ ALSO:   Those who underrated Ganduje are now full of regrets – Garba Shehu

Mr Osinbajo has been acting for President Muhammadu Buhari since 19 January, almost a month today.

President Buhari, who is in London, partially on medical vacation, was initially intended to resume on 6 February, but he asked for an indefinite extension, to enable him get the results of some medical tests from his doctors.

READ ALSO:   Nigerian govt to review vertical revenue sharing formula – RMFAC
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ ALSO:   President Buhari’s Imo speech quoted out of context – Presidency

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -