Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Reps frown at oil marketers’ failure to explain alleged theft of crude oil worth trillions of naira


Rayyan Alhassan
Rayyan Alhassan is a 30-year-old graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or www.facebook.com/RayyanAlhassan, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
tiamin rice

Members of the House of Representatives have read riot act to at least 35 major and independent oil marketers in the country over their refusal to shed light on alleged theft of trillions of naira from 2005 to 2019.

An ad hoc committee of the House chaired by the Deputy House leader, Peter Akpatason, argued that the conduct of the oil marketers was tantamount to a violation of Section 88(i)(ii) of the 1999 Constitution as amended, and the Standing Orders of the House of Representatives and other relevant Laws of the Federation.

The committee gave the oil marketers till Tuesday, February 18 to make submissions on the issue after which the Ad-Hoc Committee is at liberty to invoke necessary legislative instrument to compel compliance.

Mr Akpatason frowned at the failure of the oil marketers to submit memoranda on the issue even after the Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, graciously granted an extension of time at their request.

Mr Akpatason explained that the probe is pursuant to Sections 88 and 89 of the 1999 Constitution as amended and Section 4 of the Legislative Houses (Powers and Privileges) Acts; and HR. 113/09/2019.

The ad-hoc committee also requests for memorandum from the government agencies, organizations, interest group, general public, stakeholders and host communities in the oil producing part of the country.

The list of the defaulting oil marketers is as follows:

The Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria Limited (SPDC);

Mobil Producing Nigeria;

Addax Petroleum Nigeria Limited;

Allied Energy Resources Nigeria Limited;

Niger Delta Petroleum Resources Limited;

Seplat Petroleum Development company plc;

MRS Oil Nigeria;

PAN Ocean;

Dubri Oil Company Limited;

CON Oil;

Express/Sheba Oil and Gas;

Atlas Petroleum International;

Moni Pulo Nig Ltd.;

AMNI International Petroleum

Development Company Limited;
AMG Petroenergy Limited;

ARCO Group Plc;

Waltersmith Petroman Oil Limited;

Yinka Folawiyo Group;

Seven Energy Exploration and Production Limited;

Aiteo Group;

A. A. RANO Nigeria Limited;

Aipec Oil and Gas Limited;

Petro Leo Brasileiro (Petrobas) Nigeria Limited;

Eroton Exploration and Production Company;

ND Western Limited;

Neconde Energy Limited;

New Cross Exploration and Production Limited;

First Exploration and Petroleum Development Company Limited;

Lekoil Nigeria Limited;

Midwest Oil and Gas Company Limited;

Bono Energy Limited;

Cavendish Petroleum Nigeria Ltd;

Express Petroleum and Gas Company Limited;

Taleveras Group;

Calson Ltd. (Bermuda).

Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter

Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News