Monday, May 10, 2021

Sani Danladi wins Taraba APC governorship ticket


Jaafar Jaafar
Jaafar Jaafar is a graduate of Mass Communication from Bayero University, Kano. He was a reporter at Daily Trust, an assistant editor at Premium Times and now the editor-in-chief of Daily Nigerian.
tiamin rice

A former acting governor of Taraba State, Sani Danladi, has won the All Progressives Congress, APC, primaries, defeating nine other aspirants who contested with him.

The chairman of the APC governorship primary election for Taraba, Emmanuel Ocheja, while declaring the results at the Fast Track Hotel in Jalingo in the early hours of Wednesday, said Mr Danladi scored 60,629 votes out of the total of 107,387 votes cast across the 16 local government areas of the state.

READ  COVID-19: Taraba discharges 124 persons from quarantine

He said that former minister Joel Ikenya scored 11,772 votes, while former acting governor, Garba Umar, scored 5,504 votes.

READ  Gov. Ishaku inaugurates 30 tractors in Jalingo

Others were Sani Yahya, 7,299 votes; the TUC president Bobboi Kaigama, 5,530; Aliyu Umar 4,638; while Ezekiel Afukunyo scored 2,811 votes.

The chairman said David Kente scored 5, 549 votes, while Ibrahim Tumba and Kabiru Dodo received 1,828 and 1, 783 votes.

Eight out of the 10 contestants had on Tuesday protested over the conduct of the party primaries.

They said at a press conference which took place in Jalingo that two of their colleagues, Sani Danladi and Joel Ikenya, had hijacked the process, which they claimed was to favour the duo.

READ  EFCC sends 312 corrupt persons to jail in 2018 - Official
READ  Buratai orders immediate crackdown on IPOB over threat to disrupt elections

Both of them have since denied the allegations.


Related News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
READ  Taraba: In reprisal, Tiv militia attacks Jukun community, kills many, burnt down 50 houses

Latest News