Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Senate confirms Aisha Umar as Director-General of PenCom

Must read

Rayyan Alhassan
Rayyan Alhassan is a graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
- Advertisement -

Senate on Tuesday at plenary confirmed President Muhammadu buhari’s nominations for appointments as Chairman, Director-General and Commissioners of National Pension Commission, PenCom.

The confirmation was sequel to the presentation and consideration of the report of Senate Committee on Establishment and Public Service Matters at the Senate Committee of the Whole.

The report was presented by the Vice-Chairman of the Committee, Sen. Mpigi Barinada (PDP Rivers).

Presenting the report, Barinaga said the committee screened and found the nominees worthy of the appointments.

He, however, said the committee recommended that the nominee from Katsina should be stood down because she was yet to present her National Youth Service Corps certificate (N. Y.S.C) to the committee.

READ ALSO:   Update your biometrics before January 1, PenCom tells pension contributors

Sen. Enyinnaya Abaribe, (PDP Abia), before the confirmation of the nominees made a case for the re-visiting of the screening of the nominees.

He noted that the nominee for the position of Director- General of PenCom should have been picked from the South -East region, following the non completion of the tenure of the former director-general who was from the region.

Senators from North East like Ali Ndume(APC Boronu) and Aishatu Dahiru (APC Adamawa), however, argued that it was within the prerogative of the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to appoint people into positions based on existing laws.

Following an affirmative voice vote, Senate confirmed the following PenCom nominees are Dr  Oyindasola  Oni, Chairman (Kwara, North-Central), Aisha Dahir-Umar, Director-General (Adamawa, North- East) , Clement Oyedele Akintola as Commissioner (Ondo South -West), Ayim C. Nyerere, Commissioner (Abia, South -East) and Charles Efe Sylvester Emukowhate as Commissioner (Delta South-South).

READ ALSO:   PenCom approves new pension scheme for university workers

The nomination of Hanna Musawa, a nominee from Katsina (North -West)was stood down by the Senate until she presents her N. Y. S.C certificate.

Senate also confirmed President Muhammadu Buhari’s nominations for appointments as Non -Career Ambassadors.

The confirmation followed the presentation of a report of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and consideration of same at the Senate Committee of the Whole.

The report was presented by the committee’s Chairman Sen. Bulkachuwa Muhammad (APC Bauchi North).

The two ambassadorial nominees confirmed are Amb.Muhammad Haruna Manta(Niger) and Yusuf Yunusa(Yobe).

Senate also at plenary considered for first reading five bills.

The bills are the National Institute for Hospitality and Tourism Establishment Bill, 2020 sponsored by Sen. Abdullahi Yayaya Abubakar (APC Kebbi- North ), Information Sector Private Employment Agencies Regulation, 2020 by Sen. Musa Mohammed (APC Niger -East).

READ ALSO:   Nigerian pensioners hail Buhari, say ‘best administration in 14 years’

Others are, Historical Sites Preservation and Protection Bill, 2020 by Sen. Stella Oduah ( PDP Anambra North ) and Institute of Charted Power Engineers of Nigeria Establishment Bill, 2020 by Sen.Suswam Gabriel (PDP Benue North-East).


vanguard (nigeria)

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -