Friday, January 21, 2022

Shekarau, Adesina, others to attend 2021 Campus Journalism Awards

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Senator representing Kano Central, Ibrahim Shekarau and the Special Adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, are expected to attend the 2021 Campus Journalism Awards, CJA, in Abuja.

The organizers of the award, in a statement sent to DAILY NIGERIAN, said the Executive Director, Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Centre, CISLAC, and Chairman, Transition Monitoring Group, Auwal Rafsanjani, will also be among other eminent dignitaries that will be present at the fourth edition of the event.

The statement noted that the Executive Director, International Centre for Investigative Reporting, ICIR, Dayo Aiyetan, would be the keynote speaker at the awards’ ceremony which is slated for Saturday, 11 December 2021, in Abuja.

READ ALSO:   Nigerian Army debunks rumoured abduction of passengers on Maiduguri-Damaturu Road

He will speak on, “The Role of Media in Trouble Times,” which is the event’s theme.

According to the statement, Mr Shekarau, a former Minister of Education and a two-term governor of Kano State, while confirming his attendance, said he would be honoured to attend the event, especially as it will be honouring outstanding young journalists.

“It will be my honour to attend the glamorous 2021 Campus Journalism Awards,” Mr Shekarau said in a statement by his Media Aide, Sule Yau-Sule.

Speaking on the award, the editor of Youths Digest, Gidado Yushau-Shuaib, expressed delight in the awards, saying that the annual event has fostered the ‘spirit of competition’ among young, promising and courageous student-writers and broadcasters.

READ ALSO:   Ganduje's son reports mother to EFCC

He said: “Our coveted CJA is the only platform and avenue that has consistently celebrated these brilliant lads.

“As campus journalists, they have been, through their explosive investigative stories and other genre of writings, remodel the face of the Nigeria media.

“Therefore, it is only appropriate that we roll out the drums to honour these exceptional writing and journalism prodigies, yearly.”

The organizer further disclosed that this year’s award received over 300 entries from campus journalists across the country.

The statement also revealed that the ‘Edirin Jerry-Wesley Best Student in Broadcasting Award’ was introduced to immortalise the late Managing Director, Nigerian Customs Broadcasting Network, NCBN, who was passionate about the growth of the media industry in the country.

READ ALSO:   Kankara schoolboys’ release: Nigerian govt commends Katsina, Zamfara governors

Other categories of awards to be won at the 2021 CJA event include: Photo-Journalist, Penclub, Author (Book), Social Media Influencer, Investigative Journalist, Features Writer, Editor, Magazine, Upcoming Writer, Entertainment Writer, Sportswriter, News Reporter, Gender Equality Reporter, and tes Campus Journalist of the Year awards.

The CJA event is hosted with support from CISLAC/Transparency International Nigeria.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -