Monday, May 23, 2022

Suspended Kano Assembly members resume sitting, laud Judiciary

Must read

Rayyan Alhassan
Rayyan Alhassan is a graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
- Advertisement -

The five suspended members of Kano State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, resumed sitting after a Federal High Court in Kano, ordered their immediate reinstatement.

One of the suspended members, Bello Butubutu, member representing Tofa/Rimin Gado constituency, told newsmen after Tuesday’s plenary, that their resumption was a testimony to the independence of the judiciary.

Mr Butubutu, who spoke on behalf of other suspended lawmakers, commended the judiciary for proving its independence and ensuring justice with regard to their suspension.

Recall that the suspended lawmakers had on May 16, approached the Court asking it to set aside their suspension and allow them to return to their legislative duties, and the court granted the prayers.

READ ALSO:   Emir Sanusi to confer titles on Bashir Tofa, ex-NPA boss, others

According to Mr Butubutu, it is a clear indication that the judiciary is doing its best to ensure justice to all.

“We also commend the leadership of the House of Assembly for accepting the court order and allowing us to resume our normal sitting.

“We have to commend all those that gave us advice in one way or the other, and we assure you all of our commitment to move the state forward.

“I also want to use this opportunity to call on our colleagues, to give us all the necessary support in discharging our responsibilities,” he said.

The five lawmakers were suspended for alleged misconduct and violation of the House rules, during the debate on a motion to investigate former Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi.

READ ALSO:   Emir of Kano lauds Buhari on poverty alleviation

The lawmakers are: Labaran Abdul Madari (APC Warawa); Bello Bututu (APC Rimin gado/Tofa); Isyaku Ali, (PDP Gezawa); Garba Ya’u (APC Kunci/Tsanyawa) and Maje Gwangwazo (PDP Kano municipal).


- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -

- Website Designed By DEBORIAN.COM, a Nigerian Web Designer and Web Developer -