Monday, June 14, 2021

Tambuwal sacks all commissioners ahead of defection to PDP

Rayyan Alhassan is a graduate of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sikkim Manipal University, Ghana. He is the acting Managing Editor at the Daily Nigerian newspaper, a position he has held for the past 3 years. He can be reached via [email protected], or, or @Rayyan88 on Twitter.
tiamin rice

The Sokoto State governor, Aminu Tambuwal, has dissolved the Sokoto State Executive Council with immediate effect.

Mr Tambuwal is one of the leading members of the new Peoples Democratic Party, nPDP, which transmuted to Reformed All Progressives Congress today.

Members of the group, including Mr Tambuwal, President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, a former governor of Kano State, Rabiu Kwankwaso, among other may join the opposition PDP anytime soon.

READ  Gov Tambuwal distributes 22 boats to boost water transportation
READ  Niger Republic releases seized relief materials for Nigerian refugees

Recently, Mr Tambuwal allegedly told some of the cabinet members about his plan to dump the APC, but sources said the governor’s decision did not go down well with the commissioners.

“Quite a very few commissioners supported the decision. So it will not be good for him to defect to PDP without his commissioners following him,” an inside source who preferred anonymity told DAILY NIGERIAN.

READ ALSO: Nigeria guns for another $500m Abacha loot

As part of his last minute consultations, Mr Tambuwal had visited a former military president Ibrahim Babangida on Tuesday in Minna. Informed sources told DAILY NIGERIAN that the closed-door meeting lasted for nearly two hours.

READ  Sokoto APC governorship candidate promises fair treatment of defectors

But a statement by his spokesman, Abu Shekara, said the dissolution was aimed at restructuring and restrategizing the cabinet for optimum efficiency and service delivery to the good people of Sokoto State.

READ  Sokoto Hisbah records 606 rape cases in 2019

While thanking members of the council for the dedication, sacrifice and loyalty to the administration, the governor expressed appreciation to the people for cooperating with and supporting the outgoing members of the council members.

The commissioners were therefore directed to hand over the affairs of their respective ministries to their permanent secretaries.

READ  Niger Republic releases seized relief materials for Nigerian refugees

Mr Tambuwal then wished the outgoing executive council members success in their future endeavors.

Related News

Latest News

atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk atrk